mis ensueños

(my daydreams)

peace in silence

We all lose our way sometimes. Things backfire, blow-up in our faces, and rarely go the way we planned. It happens. But who are we to become angry? Who are we to become defensive and selfish and in control? I wish I had the patience and tolerance and trust to never become any of those things, but I don’t. I’m selfish everyday. I act like I’m in control, but when I do, it just makes it harder for me to listen, harder for me to see God’s “vision” that I so badly want to see. How can I be one with God and act like I know what’s best? Ask for things I want, things I think will make me happy? Your parents didn’t give you everything you asked for, God isn’t going to either. There is a bigger picture, and if only we could settle ourselves enough to see it. If we could put ourselves behind, put God first, listen to the calls of the dying, be uninhibited, “dangerously pure,” life-saving heroes. It can happen. Why can’t we do that? There is so much noise surrounding our everyday lives. Too many distractions. We can’t even sit in silence without feeling awkward… how can we expect to hear God? It’s a distraction that is slowly killing us, pulling us farther from the truth, from enternity, from everything we could ever ask for and more. It’s so much bigger than my comprehension. I pray to release all of me and put myself wholly into the hands of God, but I have to make the commitment. I have to have the willingness, the opportunity, the bravery, the patience, the confidence, the ability… but He can and will give it to me, one step at a time. But I also pray for you. I pray for our world, for peace, for silence. We don’t realize how strong we are, we don’t realize how weak we are. It’s the most complicated relationship, but it is one that will save your life and give you peace, something we are too greatly lacking. Do not be afraid to pray. Do not be afraid to be seen. Stand up. Jesus died for you. What have you done for Him?To be closer is my prayer. To love everyone around me. To hold the door open, to lend a dime, to share a smile, to cook dinner, to offer a ride across campus, to listen to my friends when they are hurting, to give as much of me as possible while strengthening my own relationship, to find that perfect balance and not be distracted, to point to God and not myself. I can’t imagine what my life holds, what I may be doing in the future, or how much of a future I have left. I can’t imagine my life without the love of God. I don’t care if that sounds cliche. I’m growing, and I want you to grow with me.”For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”
Jeremiah 29:11

“For God alone my soul waits in silence; from him comes my salvation.”
Psalms 62:1

hands.gif

No comments yet»

Leave a comment